It was a great pleasure for governors and staff to welcome so many former pupils and their families to our Presentation Evening on Thursday evening, when we celebrated the achievements of the Year 11 cohort who left us in the summer.  The guest speaker was one of our former pupils, Richard Burgon MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Justice and Shadow Lord Chancellor.  He was a pupil at Cardinal Heenan from 1992 to 1997 and was Head Boy in the 1996-97 academic year. He studied English Literature at St John’s College, University of Cambridge.

Mr Burgon spoke warmly of his school days here and shared some of his memories of life in the old buildings that existed prior to our move in 2000.

A list of awards presented is given below:

The Cardinal Heenan Cup for Academic Excellence: Joseph Laverty

Awards for Special Academic Excellence: Izabel Angstmann, Christina Avila Gonzalez, Kieran Boyd, Eamon Boyle-Smith, Freyja Bradshaw, Tristan Brennan, Sean Carey, Layla Carney, Happiness Chinembiri, Wiktoria Cieslak, Daniel Clement, Louis Connell, Dominic Coverley, Katie Rose Crowe, Alexandra Cserna, Alexandra Dickinson, Siobhan Doherty, Hannah Facun,  Emma Fahy, James Harland, Ella Louise Harris, Joseph Hemsworth, Darragh Kennedy, Matthew Kerrigan, Amir Khan, Christopher Kimambo, Karina Kruk, Joseph Laverty, Reagan Magill, Rebecca Mellor, Jack Mercer, Mariam Nadeem, Lucia Partridge, Jessica Place, Mahir Rahman, Patricia Ranninger, Madeline Rose, Scarlet Rowe, Michael Ruane, Francis Ryan-Casey Roisin Sajjad, Wiktoria Szuba and Aimee Tarpey.

Subject Prize Winners:

Religious Studies: Wiktoria Cieslak; English: Joshua Timms;English Literature: Margaret Kalinda; Mathematics: Ryan Muca; Science:Joseph Hemsworth; Triple Science:Sean Carey; French: Cristina Avila Gonzalez; Spanish: Alexandra Cserna; Art: Amber Midgley; Geography: Freyja Bradshaw; History: Joseph Laverty; ICT: Siobhan Doherty; Music: Matthew Smith; PE: Olivia Young; Food: Dillon Bolton; Resistant Materials:Frankie Bligh; Business Studies: Roisin Sajjad; Computing: Patricia Ranninger

Richard Fletcher Award for outstanding creativity and innovation: Kai Herbert; Patrick Campbell Trophy for an outstanding commitment to school football: Joe Fitzpatrick; Anne Woliter Trophy for the student who has made the greatest contribution to the sporting life of the school: Mia Ducasse; John Crossen Shield for contribution made to the life of the school: Freyja Bradshaw; Daniel Yorath Award for the continual commitment to school life: Daniel Clement and Francis Ryan-Casey; Duncan Nicoll Cup for outstanding personal achievement: Margaret Kalinda and Oliver Cawley; Graham Gilbert Cup for academic progress: Margaret Chisadza; Cardinal Heenan Shield for outstanding effort: Olivia Young; Language College Shield for outstanding achievement in Languages: Joseph Hemsworth; Anne Barker Shield for outstanding contribution to the ethos of the school: Happiness Chinembiri; Music Shield: Joseph Dee.

Congratulations to every one of our 2017 leavers on gaining examination results which were the best in the school’s history.  High achievement is built on a partnership between pupils, staff and families.   Congratulations to all on such successfull outcomes.

Go to top